Always check the weather before your trip!
* GPX tracks are taken on recreational level and they are not tested.
This track goes along the trails in the woods of Gattico town.
After a short walk on the asphalt road, usually with little traffic, it reaches the Sant’Andrea’s oratory, built close to what used to be the “castellaccio” fort. The fort can not be visited, since it’s now part of a private building, but its stone apse is still intact and can be seen from the trail.
The track keeps going on among the woods towards Pieve of San Martino, a charming ruin of a plebs church. The church was abandoned after it was damaged, probably by a fire. Some of its stones were used in 1630 to build the steeple of San Cosma’s church in Damiano.
In front of the Pieve there’s a picnic area set up with tables.
The track proceeds by crossing the road to reach the trail in the woods until Sass Malò (Malò stone), a huge glacial erratic. It’s a suggestive place, a strong heritage of the natural events that were part of these areas. These gigantic blocks of stone, also called “witches’ stones”, were carried to the valley floor by glaciers that, by receding, left these huge debris along the Alps’ arc.
Legends say that under that “cursed stone” there’s the den of the “mangia matài” (the child eater witch).